Olivier Greif Prize – 2 500 €

Special Prizes

20th century composers

Offered by the Association Olivier Greif.

Created at the end of the year 2000, the Olivier Greif Association has three objectives: save and keep the composer’s work, promote it and make it play. Since then, more than 250 concerts have taken place in France and abroad, fifteen or so records have appeared, as well as an important documentary series (The Incontournables Olivier Greif, at ABB Reports) and a reference musicological and biographical work ( Olivier Greif, the dream of the world, under the direction of Brigitte François-Sappey and Jean-Michel Nectoux, published in 2013 by Aedam Musicae). In addition, the Association continues relentlessly an indispensable work of help with the edition of the partitions. The Olivier Greif Association is under the patronage of Luciano Berio, Jacques Charpentier, William Christie, Michel Dalberto, Henri Dutilleux, Jean-Francois Heisser, Betsy Jolas, Laurent Petitgirard and Claude Samuel.


Olivier Greif studied music at the Paris Conservatory: piano, chamber music, composition, orchestration … He then studied in New York with Luciano Berio who teaches at the Juilliard School. He then pursued a double career as a pianist and composer. He composed the Wiener Konzert lieder cycle (1973), the Piano Sonata (1975), Ravel’s Tomb for four-handed piano (1975), the Sonata for violin and piano, The Meeting of the Waters (1976). ), the Requiem Sonata for Cello and Piano (1979/1993), the Pilgrim’s Book (1980). In the 80s, having engaged in a spiritual process based on the practice of meditation, he retired from the music scene. In the early 90’s, Olivier Greif returns to music with, in his own words, “more strength and less waiting than before”. The end of the 90s is a particularly rich period. Driven by a sense of urgency, Olivier Greif creates major works and his piano work is performed around the world by the greatest performers. Regularly invited in residence and at many festivals: Kuhmo (Finland), Easter in Deauville, Présences (Radio France). Olivier Greif dies suddenly at his Paris home on May 13, 2000, he was fifty.


© Think Ad 2019 - Legal notices